Slavonic Dances for Piano Duet op. 46


Slavonic Dances for Piano Duet op. 46

It was the “Slavonic Dances for Piano Duet” op. 46 which brought Antonín Dvorák unexpected international fame. An unerring business instinct led Fritz Simrock, at the beginning of 1878, to ask the Czech composer for some works for piano duet into which Dvorák incorporated musical themes from where he grew up. Following in the footsteps of Brahms’s “Hungarian Dances”, Dvorák refrained from a literal portrayal of individual kinds of dance. As a result, he created unique masterpieces of European music for domestic use and concert performance.

This edition of both series of the “Slavonic Dances” is based on the “Complete Edition of the Works of Antonín Dvorák”. The main sources are the first editions published by Simrock.

– Separate editions of these works based on the “Complete Edition of Antonín Dvorák’s Works”, vol. V/5
– New forewords (Cz/Eng/Ger) by Hans-Joachim Hinrichsen and Ivana Rentsch
– Newly engraved in score format

SKU: 9790260105768 Category: Tag:

Product Description


  • Presto
  • Allegretto scherzando
  • Poco allegro
  • Tempo di minuetto
  • Allegro vivace
  • Allegretto scherzando
  • Allegro assai
  • Presto

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

detail product

  • Series :
  • Format : Performance score
  • Composer :
  • ISBN :
  • UPC :
  • Pages :
  • Width :
  • Length :

info@sheetmusiccafe.com407 Vine Street Cincinnati, OH 45202